Wheat

How to Go Gluten-Free Food Suggestions


How to Go Gluten-Free while not starving yourself.

How to Go Gluten-Free

You’ve gone through your pantry, refrigerator, and freezer.  You are looking at your box to donate to friends, family or local food pantry and wondering what you are going to eat.

 

DO NOT GET OVERWHELMED!!!!

 

For me, this was the hardest part.  Focus on what you CAN have, rather than what you cannot have!  I loved sandwiches, so I have tried various kinds of bread.   So now you are wondering “what am I going to eat?”  

Ingredients

Ingredients

Meal Suggestions

Here are some general meal and snack ideas for you to help you get started.

Breakfast

Cereal – Cheerios, Chex (Rice, Corn), Special K
Oatmeal – make sure it says it’s gluten-free!

Eggs (if you can eat eggs)
Cheese (if you can eat dairy)

Potatoes

Breakfast meats – be careful because fillers in meats are often wheat.  Coloring & natural flavors could be an issue as well.  Try to get a chicken or turkey sausage or bacon from the gluten-free section of your grocery store.

Fruit

Yogurt – but be careful of things added as they may have gluten in them!

Vegetables

 

Lunch

Cheese (if you are able to eat dairy)

Rice

Potatoes

Beef

Chicken

Vegetables

Salad

 

Dinner

Rice

Potatoes

Beef

Chicken

Vegetables

Salad

 

Snacks

Hard boiled Eggs (if you can eat eggs)

Cheese (if you can eat dairy or substitute)

Fruit

Veggies – if you are inclined to dip in dressing make sure you read the label!

Yogurt (if you can eat dairy or substitute)

Nuts – do not get them from the open bins as there can be cross contamination.

Salsa

Guacamole

Corn Chips

 

Meals Examples

Breakfast:

     Breakfast bowl with some potatoes, eggs, cheese, and salsa. A cup of coffee.

Snack:

     Peanut Butter & Apple

Lunch:

     Salad with lettuce, tomatoes, cucumbers, green onion, cheese, walnuts, craisins, and gluten-free salad dressing. Iced tea to drink.

Snack:

     Walnuts & craisins

Dinner:

     Grilled chicken breast, baked potato, and steamed broccoli and iced tea.

 

Reading Ingredients Lists

Learning to read the ingredients list will be the key to know if your item is free from gluten. Just know, that it may not be listed as “wheat”, “barley”, or “rye”. Make sure to check out my Hidden Gluten page for more details. If you need help with actual meal planning email or Facebook message me and I’ll help you out!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.