Wheat

What is Gluten


What is Gluten? Its protein is found in wheat, barley, and rye. It’s the stuff that makes bread rise when you bake it.

What is Gluten?

Gluten you are hearing this everywhere these days but what is it exactly?  Well, I could give you all the science and technical terms, but we want simple easy to understand terms.  Simply put gluten is a protein in some grains that are used to make breads, pastas, cakes, and things that give that elastic (stretchy) texture of dough.

So, what grains?  Wheat (including semolina, durum, emmer, einkorn, spelt, farro, and KAMUT Khorasan wheat), Barley, Rye and Triticale (a cross bread of wheat and rye).  Oats is often listed because of where the oats are processed, they become cross contaminated.  Naturally, Oats are gluten-free.

 

What about Rice or Potatoes?

Now you know what gluten is.  Before I go any further, I’ve been asked if I can eat rice or potatoes.  Yes, neither of those are wheat.  Rice is a grain but is also a swamp grass.  A potato is part of the nightshade family and is a tuber.  You can eat either of these.  Flour for cooking and baking is made from both as well.

So, when I write about gluten I’m referencing wheat, barley, rye, and Triticale.  It’s easier to write gluten then list out all those grains all the time.  Breads, rolls, cookies, cakes, cereals, and pastas are the major things that include “gluten” in them.  That doesn’t mean you can’t eat those things.  That means that you need to learn how to read food labels and replace the items that contain gluten in them with items that do not.

 

Other places Gluten lives

You may hear someone say they had to give up other things as well.  It’s quite common for people to have to give up dairy and beef.  The reason for this is that dairy and beef is a secondary source.  Primary gluten would be eating breads, cereals, pastas, etc. Secondary is consuming an animal or its products that eats wheat, barley, or rye.

Cattle for beef or diary purposes often eat wheat grass.  Wheat grass is another form of wheat – a primary source.  Cattle eat the wheat grass.  This means it gets into the meat or the milk and can present problems for people who are celiac or have allergies.  Do not do this unless a medical professional has guided you to do so.

My doctor and I have discussed giving up dairy and beef, at this time he does not want me too – so I haven’t!  (Update: I have given up dairy now due to allergies and limit my beef.) If you do not have to give up dairy or beef, then don’t!  

Other people who have consulted with medical professionals may have to give it up. The doctor will recommend that you give it up if it is needed.  I say this in many places, but you need to follow what you and your medical professional have discussed.  Everyone will respond differently.

 

Hidden Gluten

So, we have primary sources of gluten, secondary sources and then hidden gluten.   Yes, it hides.  Things are made with gluten and then sold as other products.  For example, types of coloring put in foods contain gluten.  The hardest part of going gluten-free is the hidden gluten.  Many people I talk to consume hidden gluten and struggle with how to find out if it has it in it.

Here at The Gluten Gourmet, I hope you find recipes, pantry items, places to eat and tips on how to go gluten free.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.